## Haakon School District 27-1 Board of Education Meeting Minutes April 27, 2017

The Board of Education of the Haakon School District 27-1 met in session for a special meeting on April 27, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. at the Philip Armory, Room A-1. President Mark Radway called the meeting to order with the following members present: Doug Thorson, Paulette Ramsey, Anita Peterson, Mark Radway, Scott Brech, and Jake Fitzgerald. Absent: Brad Kuchenbecker. Also present: Superintendent Keven Morehart, Secondary Principal Mandie Menzel, Business Manager Britni Ross, Danny Wagner, Brian Hansen, and Del Bartels.

The meeting was opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

All action taken in the following minutes was by unanimous vote unless otherwise specified.

- 17-153 Communications from the audience: None
- Motion by Peterson, second by Fitzgerald to approve the agenda with the following changes: Add 17-161: Executive Session for Personnel Issues per SDCL 1-25-2(1).
- Motion by Fitzgerald, second by Thorson to accept the building project Guaranteed Maximum Price of \$9,149,350 with the following action on Alternate Bids: Reject Alternate 1 of \$207,685 to add fire suppression throughout existing facilities, accept Alternate 2 of \$8,946.00 to replace existing panel boards, table Alternate 3 of \$30,426 to demolish primary building, and accept Alternate 4 for a \$20,000 deduct off the base bid for control under HVAC with Temperature Tech. A goal of a 3% contingency fund was also set.
- Motion by Ramsey, second by Brech to approve the following subcontractors for the building project: Renner & Associates (construction staking), Scull Construction (concrete), Fichter Davey (masonry), Geer Fabrication (steel supply), Scull Construction (misc rough carpentry), M2 Inc (millwork and lab equipment), Scull Construction (millwork installation), Kumelos (exterior insulation and finish system), The Roofing & Construction Company (metal and membrane roofing), Architectural Specialties (doors and hardware), South Dakota Overhead Door (section and coiling doors), The Glass Shop (aluminum, glass and glazing), Sands Drywall (gypsum wall assemblies), Grazzini Brothers (ceramic tiling), Gemini Acoustical (acoustical ceilings), Black Hills Professional Painting (painting), Combined Building Specialties (specialties and installation), Scull Construction (residential appliances), Restaurant Design (food service equipment), Bandstra Blinds (Window Shades), Midwestern Mechanical (fire suppression and plumbing), Baete Forseth (HVAC),

Haakon School District 27-1

Temperature Tech (controls under HVAC), Muth Electric (electric), Lind Exco (site work) and J&J Asphalt (asphalt). Subcontractors for steel installation and resilient flooring are to be determined due to lack of bids. A projected start date of May 15<sup>th</sup> was set.

- 17-157 Motion by Thorson, second by Peterson to approve a cost proposal from American Engineering Testing for \$31,310.60 for construction testing.
- Motion by Fitzgerald, second by Ramsey to accept the only sealed bid received for the tree shelter belt. A bid of \$100.00 was received from Harlan Moos. Bidder will be notified and tree removal will need to begin as soon as possible.
- 17-159 Motion by Brech, second by Fitzgerald to piggyback off a bid prepared for Wolsey-Wessington for the purchase of a new bus. The bid is for \$83,850 for a 2018 Thomas School Bus, 71 passenger seated to 65.
- 17-160 Motion by Fitzgerald, second by Thorson to table canvassing the election results until the May 8<sup>th</sup> meeting. With Brad Kuchenbecker absent, and excluding the three incumbent candidates on the board, a quorum was not present to conduct the canvass.
- Motion by Peterson, second by Thorson to enter into executive session for personnel matters per SDCL 1-25-2(1) at 5:37pm. Motion by Thorson, second by Peterson to resume meeting at 6:01pm. Motion by Thorson, second by Peterson to pay Keven Morehart \$100 per day for 65 unused sick days at the fiscal year end.

Adjournment at 6:03 PM. Will meet for the next regular meeting on May 8, 2017 at 7:00 PM.

Britni Ross, Business Manager	R. Mark Radway, President